144
BOOM (lemmy.sdf.org)
submitted 2 years ago by [email protected] to c/[email protected]
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[-] [email protected] 31 points 2 years ago

*pushes glasses even higher* That rule specifically only applies when you use a bonus action to cast a spell. (Rules link). Two leveled spells using your actions are fine. Here's the relevant sage advice to confirm.

While the sage advice doesn't address leveled spells in action/reaction (e.g., fireball and counterspell) in the same turn, we can assume it is possible as no bonus action is used.

[-] [email protected] 5 points 2 years ago

So using action surge, one could cast two leveled spells and two cantrips in one turn?

[-] [email protected] 17 points 2 years ago* (last edited 2 years ago)

No, action surge only gives you an additional action, not an additional turn. So two leveled spells and one cantrip, or two cantrips and one leveled spell.

[-] [email protected] 5 points 2 years ago

Almost.

Action Surge only gives you an additional action for the turn. Casting a Bonus Action Spell would lock off both the standard and additional action from being able to cast a leveled spell.

So, 2 Cantrips + a BA spell works.

2 leveled spells as actions works, but no BA spell even if it's a Cantrip.

[-] [email protected] 4 points 2 years ago

YES! Finally someone who understands the bonus action casting rule!!

this post was submitted on 05 Aug 2023
144 points (96.8% liked)

RPGMemes

11919 readers
384 users here now

Humor, jokes, memes about TTRPGs

founded 2 years ago
MODERATORS