you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] 29 points 2 months ago (3 children)

I cancelled my Netflix several years ago literally the very first time I got an error that too many people were watching or a screen wasn't authorized or whatever the specific "you can't share your account anymore" error was at the time.

The fact that account sharing was tacitly allowed was literally the only thing keeping the value proposition of having the account afloat.

  • source
  • hideshow 3 child comments
  • [–] 13 points 2 months ago (1 child)

    Same here. I barely used Netflix and was only paying the bill because I shared the password with family members and didn't want to cut them off.

    Once they started being weird about account sharing, there was no reason to keep paying the bill. I was on the top tier too, because they said you could play on 4 screens at once, and I figured it was fair to pay extra since I was sharing the account.

    Nobody in my family complained so it's likely they weren't really using it either. So instead of a top-tier account being shared among a bunch of people that didn't really use it, they get nothing.

  • source
  • parent
  • hideshow 1 child comment