you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] 5 points 9 months ago (1 child)

IIRC TRIM commands just tell the SSD that data isn't needed any more and it can erase that data when it gets around to it.

The SSD might not have actually erased the trimmed data yet. Makes it even more important to turn it off ASAP and send it away to a data recovery specialist if it's important data.

  • source
  • parent
  • hideshow 1 child comment
  • [–] 2 points 9 months ago* (last edited 9 months ago)

    Yes. And best don't turn any setting off or change things around unless someone knows what they're doing. Power off the entire computer and unplug the storage device physically. (And subsequently, take it as an invitation to learn more about automated backups.)

  • source
  • parent