Fyi: it’s the same for me. Every time the app is closed, when I reopen it I need to do the “edit account” trick to be officially logged in. In “profile” it shows my username, but in “traverse” it tells me I’m not subscribed to any community, and if I try to comment it tells me I need to log in.
Hopefully this info is useful.