That when you block someone, their comment vanishes from your sight. It is like they don't even exist. That's how blocking should be done. It isn't like where on Reddit, you still have the option to click an icon next to their name and see what they've said that got you to block them. Why the hell is that a thing? Why should we care? If we want them blocked, we don't want to see them ever again, including the ability to re-read what they've said.

you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] 8 points 5 days ago* (1 child)

Piefed has the ability to move posts. You can move your post if you decide you made a mistake, or the mods can move a post they've decided is off-topic. A request for tech support could be moved from a conversation community to a support community where it belongs, without forcing the user to resubmit.

If you mess up and say something stupid, there's a button you can press that says "I changed my mind about this comment". The comment remains visible, but everyone sees a disclaimer that you no longer believe what you said, and they can't reply. No more replies telling you the same thing, and you don't look like a sneaky coward. Other people get to learn from your mistake.

You can follow microblogs from Piefed. I'm following George Takie, I can see his toots from My Piefed account.

You can set your pronouns and they'll appear next to your name on most communities. Species too, if you're otherkin.

There's a list of new communities and a separate list of active communities in the homepage sidebar. Communities are also organised into topics, so you can find new communities to join more easily.

  • source
  • hideshow 2 child comments