If that were the case, it would confuse users. It would be flooded with tickets about the weird notification that they got and didn't read and how they can't attach files anymore.
"Cancel the link attachment"???
Fucking press backspace! Jesus Christ, did you just get your first computer ever? I'm getting the picture that critical thinking isn't really your forte.