I think you are confusing synchronizing with backup. If you delete a file in your Syncthing folder and the deletion gets synchronized, that file is lost. If you do the same in a folder backed up by, say, Borg, you can roll back the deletion and restore the file.
I may be wrong about Syncthing, though. I haven't used it yet, but will probably use it in the future. Just not for backup :)