What I don't get is how simply closing the laptop deletes anything.
On every laptop and every OS I used closing the lid just makes it go to sleep and everything is the same when you open it back up again. Never was anything deleted.
If somebody know a scenario where stuff would be deleted, please explain so that I can avoid it.