I think that is a feature, at least for some phone OSes. Almost like a dual boot situation
Edit: I'm now thinking even the "wipe" feature as used wouldn't have raised an eyebrow if the phone didn't appear to restart. Maybe they can make it seem to unlock normally even when the distress code is used?