Not then give you access to half their customers’ personal info?
That's a feature of the service that you opt into when you're setting up your account. You're not required to share anything with anyone, but a lot of people choose too. I actually was able to connect with a half-sibling that I knew I had, but didn't know how to contact, via that system.