you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] 120 points 6 months ago (1 child)

TL;dr New Samsung phone syncs 280GB of photos to OneDrive that in turn fills the laptop storage . At some point something has become corrupted with attempting to log in and change password when the laptop disk is full.

  • source
  • hideshow 2 child comments
  • [–] 56 points 6 months ago (1 child)

    Yes, all of that happened but it happened because Samsung uploaded the photos without clear authorization and Microsoft downloaded all of the files without authorization after One Drive was automatically reinstalled after the user deliberately removed it.

  • source
  • parent
  • hideshow 2 child comments
  • [–] 2 points 6 months ago (2 children)

    The thing is you do get the choice to sync the account, it's not automagic, so the writer saying "she didn't authorize it" is actually false. Generalizing here but most non-tech literate people generally sort to just pressing "next next yes" on everything so it's not unlikely she's simply authorized it without actually realizing it. Same with Onedrive sync, it's not automatic, you get the option but it's very simple to opt out during OOBE or when prompted in Windows, but most people simply look at it and say "that sounds neat".

    That said the OOBE on new Samsungs is absolutely atrocious and I don't blame her for ending up in this situation. It's like a 20 step process on the S25 (I have one so I know what it's like) and I'm definitely not defending the clusterfuck that Windows is. I feel for both of them. I'm just saying there are some inaccuracies.

  • source
  • parent
  • hideshow 4 child comments
  • [–] 6 points 6 months ago

    Thats exactly what dark paterns are: asking „do you want to backup your files?“, instead of transparently asking if you want to „MOVE your files to OneDrive“. Then not providing clear „Yes“ and „No“ buttons. But showing a convenient „Continue“ (or similar) and a scary worded „dont backup“ (or similar). And there are so many times where I deliberately uninstalled Onedrive, Outlook(new) and others, only to find them back in the menu an hour later. Also hate these f**ing questions, where you have the big blue „Yes“ button and only a „ask me later“ to deny. Or you have to find some blue words in the explaining text to click on, like when starting MS-Office on a local account the first time: Big „Login everywhere with MS-Account“ button, and „only MS-Apps“ just in the fine print (not even a way to say „only use MS-Account in Office“)

  • source
  • parent