It's standard practice for Facebook and it's been for several years now. It's simultaneously a way to combat bots and a way to start collecting data about you in case you turn out to be a juicy real human. They want your pic and your contacts so they can start establishing your real identity and recognize you in pictures posted by others. If you don't help them do that you're worthless to them so they block you.
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
view the rest of the comments